War Memorial Gala 2022

War Memorial Gala 2022

12 Nov 2022

The annual War Memorial Gala was held on Saturday evening at Bangor Aurora Leisure Complex. This year it was great to see so many spectators in the gallery after reduced numbers due to covid. The gala is special to everyone attends, it is not only an opportunity to remember those who have fallen but to bring many clubs, swimmers, friends and families to this spectaculor evening of fast swimming.

A reception took place before the gala began, a nice time for many athletes, coaches, officials & board members current or retired to gathere and catch up. 


The gala consisted of relays from each club, it began with the heats for swimmers/teams to compete for a place in the final held later on in the evening.

Between heats and finals the gala took a break, where swimmers gathered on the poolside to partake in The Last Post Memorial Ceremony. A number of awards were given out during this part of the evening, award winners below. This was a time to appreciate, clubs, coaches/teachers, volunteers and athletes' success over the Aquatic 21/22 season. We welcomed and presented Swim Ulster Blazers to the new Swim Ulster Presidents, the first couple, Michael and Maura McCausland, we are delighted to have them and hope they ennjoy their presidential role. 


The final event of the evening was the 6x50m Relay, one that has been a favourite event over a number of years. This year Ards took the victory and took home the trophy. 



Thank you to all the Swim Ulster Officials and Volunteers for helping and allowing the gala to run smoothly. Congratulations to all award and trophy winners. 


Club of the year - Lisburn City Swimming Club

Development coach/teacher of the year - Maria Matthews


Club Volunteer of the year - Martina Hastings


Club Coach of the year - Stan Sheppard & Peter Hill

Disability swimmer of the year - Bethany Firth

Swimmer of the year - Daniel Wiffen

Back to News