War Memorial Gala 2019

War Memorial Gala 2019

09 Nov 2019

The Swim Ulster War Memorial Gala and Awards night took place earlier this evening in Bangor Aurora.

This is one of the most prestigious and poignant events in the calendar when we remember those swimmers and families who fell in the 1st World War and any conflict since.

After the moving ceremony, awards were presented to

Grace Davison and Daniel McAlinden won the Elizabeth Long trophies as for the best 11 girl and boy performances at the Swim Ulster LC Championships 2019
Mollie McAlorum and Adam Barnes took home the Joe Fitzpatrick trophies for the best 14 girl and boy performances at the Swim Ulster LC Championships 2019

Antonia Hoskins was presented with the Swm Ulster Official of the Year award
Daniel Wiffen won the Les Beck Interprovincial Swimmer trophy
Disability Swimmer of the year was Bethany Firth winning the Jack & Betty Beattie Cup
Club of the Year was Enniskillen Lakelanders who recently completed Clubmark
Ards took home the Performance Club of the Year trophy
DANI head coach Joan Dunlop won the club coach of the year award for her commitment to the Diving Club
Clare Morris from Enniskillen took home the Teacher / Jnr Development Coach trophy.
Performance Coach award went to Davy Johnston from Ards
Water polo awards went to Clonard U15 Team  and Peter Cusick for WP volunteer of the year
Ards Heather Barnes won Club Volunteer of the Year Davy Campbell Cup
Special Presentations for International Team Representations were made to the following swimmers
World Para Swimming Championships London 2019 - Bethany Firth, Barry McClements
EYOF, Baku 2019 - Ellie McKibbin
European Junior Champsionships, Kazan 2019 -  Paddy Johnston. Amelia Kane. Daniel Wiffen
World Junior Championships, Budapest 2019 -  Amelia Kane. Daniel Wiffen
World Swimming Championships, Gwanju 2019 -  Conor Ferguson. Curtis Coulter. Jack McMillan. Jordan Sloan
Ulster Swimmer of the Year went to Bethany Firth for her medal winning performances at the World Para Championships, London 2019
SportNI awarded Nelson Lindsay with a special High Performance Coach of the Year - Very well deserved too!!!

Thank you to all those who came along to present the awards to our winners and Congratulations to everyone who won a trophy !!!

Finally a huge thank you to all the officials and volunteers who made it all happen and to the coaches, swimmers and families who support the events

Back to News